I joined this wiki six years ago this month and haven't been active for... a very long while. But I've found that most of my articles have been deleted. Unless the policy's changed, I'm assuming that the policy is still to go onto a page's talk page to give the notice that the page isn't up to standards and needs to be improved so as to avoid deletion.
I think that it would be a lot more convenient if these notices were posted onto the user's talk page. You're informed instantly that you need to make these changes and there's no need to patrol your pages' talk pages. "Contributions" doesn't seem to show deleted pages, so I've lost a lot of work and have no record of the pages I created and were then deleted.
If the practice has changed, then I apologise, but I couldn't find anything about it on the Policy page.